Page 6

RUMBLES - September 2015

Rumbles VOL. 52 NUMBER 38 SEPTEMBER 2015 A JOINT PUBLICATION OF Rocky Mountain Section of the American Water Works Association & Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association Publications Committees Chair Lacey Williams lwilliams@rasinc.org Rumbles Editors Editor Laura High lehigh61@msn.com Hot Topics Steve Frank sdfcomm@q.com Management Pipeline Columnist Needed Miscellaneous Serena Hendon shendon@godinbaity.com Operations Mark Henderson mark.henderson@state.co.us Stephanie Luce stephanie.luce@lrewater.com Science, Research & Technology (SRT) Kelsey Gedge kgedge@mwrd.dst.co.us Wastewater Angela Kana-Spitz akana-spitz@sehinc.com Water Matthew McFadden matthew.mcfadden@hdrinc.com E-Rumbles Editors Melissa Marts mmarts@erwsd.org Andrea Long andrealong@kennedyjenks.com E-Rumbles Reviewers Stephanie Fleckenstein stephaniefleckenstein@ hdrinc.com Published By Apogee Publications 6528 Greenleaf Ave., Suite 219 Whittier, CA 90601 562.698.3424 On the Cover: The City of Grand Junction, Colorado, has spent the past 10 years modernizing and upgrading its Persigo Wastewater Treatment Plant. The final step was installing infrastructure that puts methane gas produced by anaerobic digesters to beneficial use as compressed natural gas to fuel city vehicles. 6 | RUMBLES SEPTEMBER 2015 contents 14 BIO-METHANE TO VEHICLE FUEL 20 RETROSPECTIVE AND PERSPECTIVE: INTERVIEW WITH WAYNE RAMEY columns ROCKY MOUNTAIN VIEW 8 Letter From the RMWEA President 10 Letter From the RMSAWWA Chair HOT TOPICS 23 Colorado Graywater Use—One Step Closer MANAGEMENT PIPELINE 26 Streamlined Management of Underground Assets OPERATIONS 28 Observations on the Art of Wastewater Treatment SCIENCE, RESEARCH, TECHNOLOGY 30 How Alkalinity Affects Nitrification COMMITTEE SPOTLIGHT 34 Participation, Representation, Value —The Colorado Water Utility Council MOVERS AND SHAKERS 35 Denver-based Scientist Part of Team Investigating Human Pathogens Removal 35 Oppenheimer Tapped for AWWA Best Paper Award OF SPECIAL NOTE 36 New Website Gets the Word Out About the Value of Colorado Water 37 RMSAWWA/RMWEA Inaugural New Mexico Spring Workshop 38 In Memoriam 39 USDA Invests $6.5 Million To Help Conserve Water, Improve Water Quality in Ogallala Aquifer Region 40 Drones to Assist in New Mexico Dam Inspection 42 Index to Advertisers Rumbles magazine for the Rocky Mountain Section of AWWA and WEA is published 6 times a year. Correspondence and articles should be sent to Laura High at lehigh61@msn.com. Publication of any article/ comment herein does not constitute an endorsement by RMSAWWA, RMWEA or the staff of Rumbles for products or services. Advertising – For information on advertising opportunities, please contact Kathleen Pishotta at kathleen@apogeepublications.com or 888.371.4933. ©Apogee Publications 2015 features


RUMBLES - September 2015
To see the actual publication please follow the link above